General information about South African Visas

Listed below are countries whose passport holders are allowed to be in South Africa either for 90 days or 30 days without a visa. If you cannot find your country in the lists, you will need to apply for a visa at least four weeks BEFORE arriving in South Africa, as visas are not issued at ports of entry in South Africa. In other words, if you need to have a visa and you arrive in South Africa without one, you will be sent back to your country of origin immediately.



African Union Laissez Passer Denmark Japan Portugal
Andorra Ecuador Liechtenstein San Marino
Argentina Finland Luxemberg Singapore
Australia France Malta Spain
Austria Germany (except in diplomatic staff due to assume duty at the Embassy and Consulates of Germany in SA) Monaco St Vincent & the Grenadines
Belgium Greece Namibia (only ordinary passport holders) Sweden
Botswana Iceland Netherlands Switzerland
Brazil Ireland Norway Tanzania (90 days per year)
Canada Israel Newzealand Trinidad & Tobago(only ordinary passport holders)
Chile (only ordinary passport holders) Italy Panama United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (only ordinary passport holders)
Czech Republic Jamaica Paraguay Venezuela
British Islands, British Oversees Territories United States of America (except in diplomatic staff due to assume duty at the Embassy and Consulates of the USA in SA) Uruguay Zambia(90 days per annum) & Zimbabwe


Requirements for visitor’s visas differ from country to country (click here to see which countries are currently exempt), and the requirements are subject to change. As each application is treated as an individual case and you should make enquiries with your nearest South African mission or consulate abroad or any office of the Department of Home Affairs to see whether or not you are required to apply for a visa.

Remember that there is a fee charged for issuing a visa, and you should check the cost with the office as well as this is updated annually. The fee is payable in different currencies in different countries.

Visas are not issued at South African ports of entry, and airline officials are obliged to insist on visas before allowing passengers to board. If you arrive without a visa, immigration officials are obliged to put you onto a flight back to your home country.

Letters of Invitation can be obtained by contacting:

jump to….

Travel_Icon Register_Icon Hotels_icon Visa_icon Visitor_Q